Tags

, , , , , ,

I have had a stroke of genius.

If you are done rolling on the floor laughing, mom, then I shall explain.

It is no secret that I love the Brits. I love how they talk, I love how it sounds when they curse – like it’s almost polite. I love how tea is an activity and not just a beverage. And I love how, at least in British literature, life just seems a little less pre-packaged and “high-fructose-corn-syrupy.” (That can be used as an adjective right?)

One of my favorite modern writers is Gil McNeil. She writes these lovely and warm tales of one woman’s quest to start over, in a little knit shop in a English coastal town. As you can imagine, I fell in love with a) these stories and b) the whole world Ms. McNeil has created.

I can whole heartedly picture myself as a completely satisfied member of that world. I see myself playing with the dog (named Sirius of course) down by the sea before heading up to the shop to spend my day ordering new yarn stock, dreaming up new patterns to try, and writing my blog, only stopping occasionally to put the tea on. How freaking fantastic does that sound?

As you can see, I spend a lot of time thinking about this. Because, and this statement may come as a shock to you, I am frequently underwhelmed at work.

I know, I know. Let the gasping and shaking of heads commence. I’ll give y’all a minute.

This problem I have leads to exceptionally long and tedious days. Which suck. Don’t get me wrong, I love my job. Somedays I just need more than this. I have found an excellent way to combat my boredom though: I dream. And not just about the knit shop in England. Though the actual locale is negotiable. So this is the dream, in full:

Two brands: Alpaca.Rae and Rae.Sin (still a working title, ❤ Breezy!). Two things I love to do more than anything else: knitting and baking.

Now I know this is not a terribly new concept. I know of other knit shops in Portland that offer this exact same experience. So how will mine compete? Well this is one of the best things about the knitterary community, and in Portland in particular. You really don’t have to be all the different, and people will love you just the same.

So when I’m feeling particularly underwhelmed at my day job, and thinking about British accents and Mr. Darcy doesn’t cut it, I fantasize about what this shop will one day look like. I imagine something like an over large living room, with shelves full of books and yarn, and a little vintage kitchen in the back. A front case with Alpaca.Rae originals and a menu board “chalk” (sorry, I just couldn’t help myself) full of Rae.Sin baked goods and teas and coffees. I want knitters to come into what will surely be an extension of my home, and never want to leave.

So here’s my current game plan to banish the boredom and prepare for the future:

1) Finish Grad School

2) Develop alpacasandanalogies

3) Open Alpaca.Rae as an Etsy shop and continue to experiment with recipes for Rae.Sin

4) Get that book deal

5) Refine my taste for tea

That right there, is a fool-proof plan.

20111229-113720.jpg

